reply

Posted

print

favorite this post Nanny / Household Manager hide this posting unhide

This is a LIVE-IN position. Hours are irregular, between 25-50 a week. Energetic college student considered. We may occasionally invite you to travel with us on our vacations. Compensation is an hourly wage, additional stipend for on call hours, and room and board.

Duties:

If there is a time conflict, the priority is always childcare.

Childcare

Mornings:
Get child ready for school, make and feed breakfast, make lunch, drop off. 6am-8am.

Evenings:
Pick up after school, make and feed dinner, play time, bedtime routine, put to bed 5-8pm. Sometime this will be abbreviated if I get home before 8. Average 2 times a week.

Daytime:
On no school days (teacher conference and some holidays) and days child is home sick. 7am-5pm, make and feed breakfast, lunch, snack. Play time. Go outside to park or other activity if weather permitting. Supervise naptime after lunch. These would be infrequent, but we would expect you to make yourself available if child is unable to attend school due to fever, GI upset, etc.

On call nights:
Be available in the house 5pm-8am an average of 3 weeknights a month. Turn on baby monitor and respond to middle of night wakings if I am called in. All on call nights are paid regular hourly wage for any active hours worked, plus stipend for being on call. I get called in to the hospital an average of 1 in 4 times I am on call, so most the time you will be able to sleep uninterrupted. I get my weeknight on call schedule at the beginning of the month every month.

On call weekends (10 per year): 5pm Friday-8am Monday, possibly longer if it is a 3 day weekend. Be available to take over childcare at a moment's notice. Weekends paid regular hourly wage for any active hours worked, plus stipend for being on call. I get the weekend on call schedule at the beginning of the year every year.

Weekend childcare: occasional Saturday or Sunday day or evening shifts, hours vary. These would be optional (we have others we can call for weekend babysitting if needed).

Housekeeping:
Includes picking up, dishes changing bedding, laundry, vacuuming, dishes, cleaning bathrooms, cleaning kitchen, food preparation, grocery shopping and other errands. Gardening and snow shoveling optional, but we will gladly pay you additional hours if interested in those responsibilities. We will provide a detailed list of what needs to be done and how often. You can set your own schedule during the day to get tasks done and take time for yourself.

You can either spend 2-3 hours 5 days a week on housekeeping, or do 2 more intensive cleaning days and 3 days with about an hour of dishes and picking up.

Requirements:
Driver's License and good driving record

Safe, reliable car and insurance - if you have one we will reimburse you the federal rate for mileage, currently $0.54 per mile driven. If you do not, we will supply a vehicle for work purposes.

Clean background check.

Health insurance - either through your family or individually purchased through the ACA. If you need us to purchase it for you, part of the cost will come out of your wages. Having health insurance is non-negotiable, you must be be able to go to a doctor if you get sick.

Fully vaccinated, and willing to get flu shot annually. We will pay for your flu shot, and any needed booster shots.

Non smoking. No heavy alcohol use please.

No pets please. We have a very well behaved service dog, and no other animals.

Compensation:

Hourly wage based on experience plus room and board. Internet access and all utilities provided. On street parking.

You will have a large, sunny, private basement bedroom. The bathroom is shared with overnight visitors about 3 nights a month. There is a lot of shared common space in the basement available for exercise or crafting space. Kitchen is shared.

About us:

Mom is a surgeon, and works 40-60 hours a week. She has to travel a few times a year for professional conferences.

Dad has a spinal cord injury and does some household management but is unable to do all that is needed for housekeeping and keeping up with an active toddler. He is often home during the day, usually in his home office or the kitchen (he's a good cook). He occasionally travels solo to see family out of state.

Child is 3 years old, and in full day pre-school at a local Montessori school. We are hoping to have another child, but not anticipating one at the moment.

Commitment:

We'd like a 1 year contract. We would love to find the right fit for several years.
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 5998127296

posted:

best of [?]